“God doesn’t want something from us. He simply wants us.” – C.S. Lewis

“God doesn’t want something from us. He simply wants us.” – C.S. Lewis

This short and simple quote by Clive Staple Lewis at first look may seem simple and easy to walk past. Yet in reality this is a radical quote that can really cause quite the commotion in the church. Read it again. Give yourself some time to really think it over. Would you agree that God really does just want us? Or are you more inclined to argue that God desires an action from us; an action that could look like belief, obedience, and submission or love shown through the way that we live our lives? This quote can really be a dividing factor within the body of believers.

I’m not going to give you an in depth explanation into the Bible to prove to you why I believe what I believe. I am not going to give you a sermon on God’s grace and I sure as won’t give you a well collected article or book explaining to you my train of thought. Yet I do believe this is an important question for one to ponder. Whether you agree or disagree with C.S. Lewis’s statement, ask yourself this question: How does my answer reflect my idea of what grace is?

Does Grace ask you to give anything? Can you do anything to receive God’s grace? Does God ever put the brakes on Grace?

Leave a Reply

